“100 THINGS WE ALL WONDER ABOUT NONNIE JULES” Blog Tour!

It is my great honor to introduce Nonnie Jules to you today! Nonnie is an accomplished author, poet, wife, mother, and creator and president of Rave Reviews Book Club. Nonnie works tirelessly on behalf of others and models true leadership. This is Day 13 of the “100 THINGS WE ALL WONDER ABOUT NONNIE JULES” Blog Tour! I encourage you to visit each stop to get a complete picture of the Grand Dame we know as Wonder Woman! Her tour line-up can be found here.

IMG_5375

GIVEAWAYS:

Leave a comment at each stop and get your name entered that number of times into a random drawing for one of the 5 giveaways listed below!

(2) $10 Amazon Gift Cards

(1) $5 Amazon Gift Card

(2) e-book copies of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…”

ULTIMATE PRIZE GIVEAWAY #1

Anyone who purchases a copy of  “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE,” “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND,” of “IF ONLY THERE WAS MUSIC” and send to me a copy of the purchase receipt to nonniejules@gmail.com, and also leave a comment along the tour, will get their name entered into a drawing for a $50 Amazon Gift Card!  One entry for each book that is purchased, whether in e-book or paperback format.  Purchases must take place between 2/14 – 2/29/2016.  If you have already purchased all of my books, then feel free to gift a friend, just for the chance to win!  Spend a little, and you could win a lot!

ULTIMATE PRIZE GIVEAWAY #2

Anyone who reads and posts a review of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…” “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER…”or “IF ONLY THERE WAS MUSIC” and sends the link to their review to nonniejules@gmail.com, will get their name entered into a drawing for a $20 Amazon Gift Card!  One entry per each book read and reviewed.  Reviews must be posted between 2/16 – 3/15/2016 to be placed into the drawing.

Now…Here’s Nonnie!

Q: What gives you joy, Nonnie? What events, activities accomplishments, people fill you with pleasure?

A: Rebecca, you should already know that the first on my list of things that give me joy is my wonderful family. Reading and writing both bring me joy, exercise brings me joy, cleaning my home, walking around just basking in the glow of my beautiful home…all these little things bring me GREAT joy! Being of service to others is also high on my list of things that bring me pleasure.

Q: As busy as you are, how do you take care of yourself, mentally, emotionally, physically and spiritually?

A: Well, I nourish my mind with ideas and I allow myself the freedom to let my thoughts wander. When they do, they return with a storehouse of wonderful ideas for me to use in my quest to help others reach that pinnacle of success! I nourish my body with exercise and clean eating for the most part. I meditate and pray, twist myself into knots with Yoga and Pilates…and I try to live an honest and “true” life…I practice what I preach.

Q: Looking back at your life, what 3-4 things (happenings, philosophies or people) gave you the confidence and strength to start RRBC?

A: Let me share this quote from my site, www.BooksByNonnie.wordpress.com: “As a child, no one ever told me I couldn’t, therefore, in all things I THINK I CAN.” Rebecca, I can hear my mom saying, even now: “She was the only child I had who demanded things!” “She was the only baby I had that came out breach.” I take all these things to mean, that even as a child, I knew that I was destined to do great things, because even as a child, I expected it…demanded it, even. I came out feet first because I knew that these feet were made for some serious miles!

Q: In ten words or less, what do you want written on your tombstone?

A: Here lies the remains of Nonnie Jules, she lived her life by her own rules. She wanted to serve and serve she did. This appearance…her farewell bid.  OK, maybe I wouldn’t have it to read that way, how about simply: A full life lived, in service to others.

Q: You have commented about your wonderful husband and happy marriage. What advice would you give to newlyweds.

A: You’ve misquoted me, Rebecca. I said I was happy. I can’t speak for him…LOL!

 

To follow Nonnie’s tour and to get more of your questions answered, please visit her Blog Tour Page on the 4WillsPub site http://wp.me/P43s9i-FEw. Thanks for stopping by today and good luck on winning some of these great prizes!

CONTACT NONNIE VIA:

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/nonniejules

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BooksByNonnie

Blogs:  www.nonniewrites.wordpress.com , www.BooksByNonnie.wordpress.com

www.AskTheGoodMommy.wordpress.com

DDNF1

DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND” 

Trailer:  https://youtu.be/qbUK3XQ5-dA

 

NJ Cover Design

SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS

Trailer:  https://youtu.be/fQBnt0wix88

IMG_0991

THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS

 Trailer: https://youtu.be/zg15rptFN2g

 

1If Only There Was Music book cover

IF ONLY THERE WAS MUSIC

Trailer: https://youtu.be/g2gNns8ZVFI

Sherilyn Powers–I’m Not Crazy…I’m Allergic!

Hi, and welcome to the final day of the “I’M NOT CRAZY…I’M ALLERGIC!” Blog Tour with Author, Sherilyn Powers.

 

Sherilyn Powers imageIf you have followed this awesome tour, then you already know that Sherilyn enlightened an empowered us with information to help us, help ourselves.

 

Recently, Sherilyn commissioned 4WillsPublishing to create the perfect book trailer to enhance the wonder, that is her book.  Today, we are introducing you to that trailer and we are asking you to stop by if you haven’t already, take a peek, and then share it on social media with all your friends and family.

 

If you missed any stop along the tour, please head to Sherilyn’s Blog Tour page at 4WillsPub where you can go back and follow each stop.

 

If you haven’t already, be sure and leave a comment on any of the stops to be entered into Sherilyn’s awesome Giveaway!

 

And now, we give you the “I’M NOT CRAZY…I’M ALLERGIC!” Book Trailer!  Let us know what you think in in the comments below!

 

Thanks for stopping by and huge thanks to Rebecca, for ending this tour with a bang!

I'm Not Crazy I'm Allergic by Sherilyn Powers

Follow Sherilyn Powers

Twitter:  @SPowersINCIA
banner

​​

“HIS REVENGE” LAUNCH WEEKEND BLOG TOUR Featuring Author John Howell

I’m greatly honored to host Author John Howell on the  “His Revenge” Blog Tour. John Howell is a very supportive member of Rave Reviews Book Club. He is also a phenomenal author! I enjoyed his book, My Grl, and I’m looking forward to His Revenge.Rebecca

“HIS REVENGE” LAUNCH WEEKEND BLOG TOUR

John Howell

This is the fourth stop on the 4Wills Publishing “His Revenge” Launch Weekend Blog Tour. I certainly have had some fun and want to thank my host today as well as 4Wills Publishing for setting up the tour. Please contact them at 4Wills Publishing for any and all author services.

When you embark on a journey of revenge, start by digging two graves one for your enemy and one for yourself. This Chinese proverb points to the fact that revenge is a dangerous business. When the act of revenge is complete, there is usually suffering on both sides of the issue.

His Revenge front final

In my new book His Revenge there is clearly enough evidence to suggest the path to revenge can be troubled and uncertain. John J. Cannon is certain he wants revenge for the murder of a friend and the sinking of his boat. The target for this desire is his enemy Matt Jacobs, who also has revenge on his agenda. Matt wants the Western World to suffer for not allowing the Palestinians a land of their own. We also find out in the story he has a deeper more personal reason to hate the infidels than just a displaced people. Matt is a billionaire leader of a terrorist splinter group calling themselves The Desert Wolves. He has the funds and the motivation to cause disruption and pain to the United States. He has been warned not to continue his destructive path by his religious leadership, but Matt’s ego and emotion ignore these warnings. He feels he is above the law of man or God.

His Revenge is available now on Amazon and KDP Select

Here is an excerpt of a conversation between John and Matt Jacobs.

John to Matt Jacobs, “You’ll be awfully pleased with yourself then.”

“Oh, my dear man. I’m so pleased with myself that I might even find a way to reward you for your help.”

“I should feel grateful?”

“It doesn’t matter what you feel. The point is, we have a job to do, and you’re going to help. If you decide you don’t want to help, well, I’m sure Winther described what would happen.”

“He did, but I want to hear it from you.”

“There isn’t a whole lot to say. If you don’t help us, your girlfriend and a bunch of other folks are going to be martyred for the cause.”

“This doesn’t bother you?”

“Well, if you mean by blowing up those people because you wouldn’t allow us to complete our plan, then yes, it would bother me.”

“No, I mean killing innocent people.”

“They are the same as you and are not innocent. They’ve been born on the wrong side of perpetual combatants who will only stop fighting when my people are given their rightful homeland back. It’s not their fault, but it’s their fate.”

I grit my teeth. “There’s no talking with you.”

“There is no talking ‘innocent’ because there are none on your side of the conflict.”

“And on your side?”

“I believe we are all innocent, and it wasn’t our people who took the heritage lands away. It was your culture that decided we were no longer the rightful overseers of Palestine. Think for a moment how you would feel if a bunch of soldiers moved into your neighborhood and then told you to find a different place to live if you didn’t care for what was going on. If you decide to stay, then think of being under military law with no rights whatsoever.”

“This is still your viewpoint. There are two sides to every issue. Didn’t the Jewish settlers have a right to live as well?”

“Okay, let’s go back to my example concerning your neighborhood. What if a bunch of people moved into your area and simply squatted on the unoccupied land? Because of their political power, the world politic gave them the land, and you found yourself having to make the choice to stay or go.”

“Yeah, well, I can say I wouldn’t care for it, but I can also tell you I wouldn’t be killing people over it.”

“You only think you wouldn’t.” Jacobs rises. “I believe you would be capable of killing those who were taking away what belonged to you. You smugly say you wouldn’t because you have never been in our position. Also, if you, like me, lost some people very dear to your heart at the hands of your enemy, you wouldn’t think twice about who is innocent and who is guilty. Thank you for the chat.” He walks back to the rear of the airplane and he and Winther discuss something that seems important, as Winther frowns deeply.

John Howell photo

About John W. Howell

John’s main interests are reading and writing. He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business. John writes fictional short stories and novels as well as a blog at http://www.johnwhowell.com. John lives on a barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of south Texas with his wife and spoiled rescue pets. He can be reached at his e-mail johnhowell.wave@gmail.com, Facebook https://www.facebook.com/john.howell.98229241 or Twitter at @HowellWave

My GRL_johnwhowell

 

 

My GRL is available on Amazon and wherever e-books are sold

 

banner

C.S. Boyack: The Frighteningly Fun Halloween Tour

banner

Welcome! I am happy to host C.S. Boyack today as he journeys across the Web on his Frighteningly Fun Halloween Tour! Enjoy!

Don’t forget to comment below, and be sure to pick up Will ‘O the Wisp for a great Halloween read!

 

Will O’ the Wisp is a paranormal from C. S. Boyack. It involves a mildly handicapped girl facing a mysterious threat. The wisp has been killing off Patty Hall’s family for generations, and she’s next on the list. It is suitable for young adult readers. It’s a perfect Halloween read.

Book Cover

**It’s always nice to meet the main character at some point during a blog tour. I wrote about how I chose Patty in a post called Draft Day. Those who are interested can read it here https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/draft-day-2013/

 

The setting is a small farming community in the fall of 1974. Patty Hall is fifteen years old and starting high school. She wears corrective leg braces to straighten her bowed legs. This was a fairly common practice back then, and those of us who were around all knew at least one kid who had these. They traditionally got rid of them after puberty.

I chose the name, Patty Hall, because it’s about as vanilla as I could come up with. I didn’t want her to come across as special in any way. She’s just a regular kid. A regular kid with a big problem.

Patty’s father died in a terrible accident when she was small. Her mother remarried a local farmer, and in a small town environment it means the men grew up together. She gets along well with her stepfather, but fights with her mother. Patty is a typical farm girl with chores and everything.

Patty is a social outcast because of her braces. Some of the other kids are cruel to her. She has some good friends, who also occupy the fringe of the school social structure. She is enamored with the space program, and dreams of going to space one day herself.

The Will ‘O the Wisp first shows up when she and a friend are out stargazing. Patty assumes it must be something from outer space. She couldn’t be more wrong. It seems she is well prepared for the wrong problem.

This branch of the Hall family is being systematically killed off, and it’s been going on for centuries. If she can’t figure it out soon, Patty will join a long list of forgotten victims.

This story has high school issues too. It’s hard to watch your friends start dating and driving when there is no chance for Patty to do the same. There is a strong coming of age element to this story.

I had so much fun writing this one. I sincerely hope the readers out there will give it a chance.

***

Patty Hall is perfectly prepared for the wrong problem. She is enamored with the space race, and knows the history of NASA by heart. She is faced with an ancient threat that has been targeting the Hall family for generations. Hampered by an overprotective mother, if Patty can’t figure it all out in time, she may be the next member in the Hall family cemetery plot.

It’s not hard enough to be a fifteen year old girl, and a social outcast. As she watches her friends mature and grow, she has to face the idea of never turning sixteen. Please consider joining Patty on her incredible adventure.

You can pick up a copy on Amazon using your Kindle or a free reading app. Download it here:

North American version: http://a-fwd.com/asin-com=B00UPH6BNS

International version: http://a-fwd.com/asin-com=B00UQNDT2C

***

Author Photo 

Author Bio
I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

***

Follow Craig at the following locations:

Follow my blog: http://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com

Check out all my novels here: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00ILXBXUY

Twitter: https://mobile.twitter.com/Virgilante

On Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9841203.C_S_Boyack

Rave Reviews Book Club’s BACK-TO-SCHOOL BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY

Block Party Badge(1)

I’m happy to meet you here at the Rave Reviews Book Club’s BACK-TO-SCHOOL BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY

This happening month-long party gives you, the guest, a chance to rub shoulders with great authors, hang out with interesting fictional characters, win fabulous prizes, and invite everyone you know to join the fun!

CONGRATULATIONS TO MY PRIZE WINNERS:

Marc Estes, Beem Weeks, and Harmony Kent

  

Prize #1: A $15 Amazon Gift Card

Prize #2: An e-version of Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated

Prize #3: An e-version of your choice of any of my novels

All you have to do to enter is read this blog and comment before midnight, September 17 CST.  

Welcome to my Rave Reviews Book Club Back-To-School Book and Blog Party! Since I just finished a book about sex and marriage, I thought it would be fun to discuss those topics today. At 3 am one dark and foggy night, I realized many of you might not enjoy such a personal conversation at a public party. At 3 pm on a sunny afternoon, I decided sex is always a fun topic no matter where you are.

This is how I decided to satisfy both my 3 o’clock brainstorms: In the first short blog, I’ll share the trials and joys of writing in multiple genres. You can read that, skip the sex, and comment below. Or, you can skip the genre talk, devour the one about sex, and comment below. Or you can have extra fun by reading both and, of course, commenting below. Take your pick, and as long as you comment, you will be entered into the great RRBC give-aways!

The Multiple Genre Nightmare

BookCover5_25x8_BW_330.pngI recently received a one-star rating on Amazon for my debut novel, Into Dark Waters. The review said:

“Much too graphic for my taste. I thought since it was billed as a Christian novel, it would be more a who-done-it than a shock-and-Gore.”

I did not ever bill this as a Christian novel-though it isn’t anti-Christian and pretty squeaky clean in the sexual sense. It is dark and disturbing at parts.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00058]But since I also write to a Christian audience (Diary of a Christian Woman-How I Used 50 Shades of Grey To Spice Up My Marriage and Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated), it’s expected that all my books would appeal to that genre’s readers.

BookCover5_25x8_BW_330.pngMarketing for multiple genres means multiplying your time and finances, and maybe changing you pen name. It is such a nightmare, that if I only cared about sales, I would choose one style and stick to it.

As much as I love selling my books, I write because I have to tell the story that’s running around in my head. I can feel my characters fighting to escape. I hear their screams and am haunted by their whispers. Sometimes, their story is funny. Other times, it’s dark and mysterious. Once, as with The Geek Club, the story appealed to kids rather than adults.  The bottom line is that the story belongs to the characters. And many, many characters inhabit my brain, each with their varied and crazy journeys.  It’s not my fault I can’t market all of them to the same people.

Money isn’t everything.  Neither are reviews.

Right now, I feel the stomping of characters’ footsteps—characters that want me to tell their stories in sequels to Haunting Megan and Diary of a Christian Woman. Next week, I’ll sit down and begin to put on paper the story of the character that stomps the loudest.

As for my non-fiction–people asked me to write it, so I did.  It’s excellent.  I’m proud of it and what it has to offer.  But now that it’s done, I’m looking forward to letting the imaginary people out of my head so they can lead me on their adventurous escapades.

 

Now…If you want to skip the sex, drop down to comment bellow!

Sex Education-That Awkward Class We Thought Would Be An Easy “A”

This blog post is appropriate for those 18 and older

I remember very little about my high school sex-education class. There was something about a condom and a cucumber, vivid descriptions of venereal diseases, and the class clown who made us laugh and the teacher cry. I’m pretty sure we never spoke of the bond between emotional and physical intimacy nor the pain that rips apart souls when that intimacy is damaged.

In our world, sex is supposed to be simple, like fitting together pieces of a puzzle—an easy “A”. That is not reality. In a nationwide survey, the vast majority of men and women gave their physical marital intimacy a failing grade.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]I wrote Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated for couples that want their sex lives to be worthy of a grade higher than the average “C”. I wrote it to give relationships practical tools and ideas to move their emotional and physical intimacy to Honor Roll status.

This book has Christian in the title. That does not mean that only Christians will benefit by what is found inside. The early chapters deal with issues faced by those raised in a culture of repression often found in churches. It is my belief that people of faith should have free, joyful, celebratory marital sex lives. After all, we follow the God who created our bodies with all the hormones, nerve endings, and g-spots for our enjoyment. The Bible we read has an entire book dedicated to physical expression of love. One goal of Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated is to help people accept their own sexuality as a gift from God, given to them to enjoy with their spouse.

Second, scripture illustrates how sexual intimacy and emotional intimacy are bound together. I want the reader to know that along with hundreds of interviews, surveys, and current research, this book will use the Bible to show us ways to deepen our love and help us find freedom in sexual expression.

Every chapter in Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated begins with testimonies from people who share their struggles, fears, failures, and successes. Here are some of those stories:

Andrea’s Story

For a long time, years and years, I didn’t think he cared. I could see him zone out when I talked about my feelings. His eyes would just drift away. When I told him I was leaving him, he just stood there. He didn’t say anything, so I thought he wanted me to go.

Mark

I don’t know what to do. I try to be romantic and add more cuddling or foreplay, and my wife seems irritated like she doesn’t have time for that. Then, when I skip straight to sex, she gets mad because I didn’t seduce her. I can’t win.

Aileen’s Story

Every time he touches me it means sex. Sometimes I wish he’d just hold me because he wants to hold me.

Cecily’s Story

I know he loves me. I’ve never doubted it in thirty plus years of marriage. He holds my hand, rubs my shoulders, just reaches out and touches me when he can. That says more to me than words.

Rhonda’s Story

I don’t want him to touch me in public. It feels like a show, because he doesn’t touch me at home. I cringe when he touches me.

Rita’s Story

Romance is sensual—I mean it involves all the senses. Sight, sound, touch, taste, and smell all play a part. If something is off, the mood is off. It’s worth setting the scene. My husband is good at that. It’s one thing I really love about him.

Shirley’s Story

When we first got married, he’d bring me meaningless little gifts. He gave me dishtowels once. I remember thinking, “Gee, thanks! If you actually used these to help me they’d mean something!”

Carl’s Story

I could feel Grace, my wife, pulling away from me. I tried to talk to her, find out what I’d done to make her treat me like that. Finally, my mother-in-law told me Grace didn’t think I loved her. I TOLD her I loved her every stinking day! She had to have her mother tell me she felt unloved?

Marielle’s Story

I start my day taking care of my aging parents, then it’s get the kids to school, go to work, pick up kids, pick up dinner, and collapse on the sofa. I don’t have the energy to brush my teeth, much less have sex before I fall into bed.

Zena’s Story

I imagined a near-every-night scenario for sex. But life kind of takes over. Everything is good, but by the end of the day, neither of us want to do anything under the covers but sleep.

Leona’s Story

My husband doesn’t want me as much as I want him. It hurts. I feel like I’m lacking something. He’s a man. He’s supposed to want sex. Why does he turn away from me?

Tadd’s Story

She’s always too busy, too tired, or she has a headache. We shouldn’t fight about sex, but when we aren’t having any, my frustration rises and I get angry faster.

Kristof’s Story

If I could go back to the day before I failed my wife (had an affair), I would choose death over the hell I brought to my family.

Jodi’s Story

His work was more important than I was.

You can find out more about Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated at http://rebeccareilly.net/?page_id=530

Amazon 5 Star Review:

“Rebecca has a message to share that will help marriages, young and old. She isn’t afraid to tackle tough topics in this book and I’m impressed at how she was able to incorporate both humor and gut wrenching interviews throughout. Applicable to those with and without faith, I think anyone who’s been married for any length of time would find this insightful and helpful. For those of you who enjoyed her hilarious fiction book “Diary of a Christian Woman: How I Used 50 Shades of Gray To Spice Up My Marriage” from 2013 I know you’ll appreciate this book as well.”

Buy Links:

Amazon Paperback: http://bit.ly/SexMarriagePB

Amazon Kindle: http://bit.ly/sexamarriage

iTunes: http://bit.ly/iTunessexandmarriage

Barnes and Noble:  http://bit.ly/sexBN

Please comment below to enter to win! I’d love to hear your thoughts…and if you have any memories of high school sex-ed, pass them on and give us a laugh (or a cringe)!

  I’ll see you at the next stop of the #RRBC BOOK and BLOG BLOCK PARTY! http://wp.me/P49Fi9-2y5

 

Meet Featured Artist and Author Laurie Finkelstein

Today I welcome Laurie Finkelstein, an artist who is working on her first book, a romantic comedy “Next Therapist Please”.

I find Laurie’s art to be diverse and beautiful! Laurie has explored a variety of medium including clay, metal, oils, pen and ink, pastels, and watercolors, ultimately choosing acrylics and mixed media as her medium of choice.  She studied at USC School of Music and the Arts, Otis Art Institute, California State University, and through private instruction.

Below are several pieces of her work that drew me.

You can visit her website for information on how to purchase these, and other of her fabulous works of art.

Blog or Website: http://lauriebethart.com/blog
Facebook Page URL: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Laurie-Beth-Art/205028329507169

Laurie Describes Her Art

I believe that much of what we see is not really there, and there is so much around us that we do not really see.

My paintings reflect my perception of nature by painting what I see and what I want to see.  My current series of paintings focus on rocks and boulders. I am fascinated with the variety of textures and colors in seemingly mundane objects. They are also like postcards from my travels as I photograph rocks and boulders wherever I might be and use those photos as inspirations for my paintings. Many of my works border on the abstract by way of the composition and placement of edges. My placement of the rocks on the canvas showcases the cracks and crevices, creating depth and contrast in light and shadow. I improvise and exaggerate the colors I see in the surface of the rocks so that each painting has slightly different color combinations. Creating these paintings allows me to elevate the intrinsic beauty of boulders. The boulders have been in the making for millions of years and yet seem unchanging.  They stand as metaphors of strength and durability. My images give the audience an alternative view of what we mostly take for granted and see only as objects to climb over, lean against, or walk by.

In my traditional landscapes I tweak colors to produce images that are slightly unreal.   My abstract paintings are images that I would like to see in nature. They include elements such as wire, beads and textiles to represent tiny and microscopic particles and living things.

Laurie Finkindian-summer-wind

Indian Summer Wind
Acrylic/Mixed Media on Panel
14 x 18 x 2
$185.00 USD
laurie finkwinter-passion
Winter Passion
Acrylic/Mixed Media on Panel
5 x 7
$35.00 USD
lauriefinkinner-erosion-ii
Inner Erosion II
Watercolor
17 x 20
$300.00 USD

lauriefinksan-pablo-bay-ii

San Pablo Bay II
Acrylic on Canvas
16 x 20
$350.00 USD

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Featured Author Beth Hale

I have the pleasure of introducing you to author Beth Hale!  I’ve enjoyed Beth’s books, and I know you will too!
Beth-Hale-300x194
Beth Hale grew up on a small farm on the Tennessee / Mississippi line. While she no longer lives on the farm, she does live in a small Mississippi town with her real-life hero, Nathan, and their two amazing children, Clay and Lily.
 By night, Beth works as an E-911 dispatcher. She loves her job but writing is her real passion. When she’s not planted in her dispatch chair, you can usually find her at home, putting her characters’ lives down on paper.
“There is nothing I love more than  to curl up with a great cup of coffee, an even better book, and a cozy blanket. I imagine quite a few of you are the same.  When I’m not working at my “day job”, I carve out time for writing my own stories before I indulge in reading sprees.”

Contact Beth Hale!

Twitter Handle: @writes4coffee

Facebook Page URL: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Beth-Hale/458435490953994

 

Trusting Jack

bethhaletrustjack

After a devastating divorce, Emma is picking up the pieces of her shattered heart and life. Her first step in reclaiming her old job as a personal assistant to famous actress, Norah Jackson. Work takes her to London, where she meets sexy fledgling actor, Jack Brandon. The sizzling attraction is immediate and mutual. Little by little, Emma begins to open her heart again. But Jack has a past, too. And it’s come back to haunt him, wreaking havoc on their budding romance.

Can Emma let go of the hurt and learn to trust Jack completely? Or is their relationship doomed to be a one act play?

Reviews for Trusting Jack
I was engaged quickly and really wanted to know what would happen between Emma and Jack.

It was a great love story with humor, passion and a pretty well developed plot.

I absolutely love this book. I read it cover to cover in one day. This book has a lot of twist and turn that’s keeps you intrigued. I would recommend it any day. Can not wait for her next one.

Magnolia Secrets

http://www.amazon.com/Magnolia-Secrets-Book-1-ebook/dp/B013EDNRBS/ref=la_B00EDH7RAW_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1439837283&sr=1-2

beth hale magnolia

Walker and Lainey share one explosive night together, and he awakens to find her gone. Shrugging it off as just a glorious one-night stand, he accepts a new job in a small town: New Hope, Mississippi. That’s where he finds Lainey again. She just happens to be married to the Chief of Police-and Walker’s new boss.

Lainey is terrified that Walker will divulge their secret. If he does, Lainey is a dead woman. But despite the danger, she can’t forget the one passionate night she spent in Walker’s arms. Walker demands answers from Lainey: What secret is she hiding? Why is she so afraid? And when people begin dying, he wants to get to the bottom of it. Why is the police chief trying to brush off the deaths? Why doesn’t he want Walker to work the cases? What kind of secrets is he hiding?

Drawn together, unable to deny their passion, they risk their lives. Lainey is trapped. Walker is determined to save her and uncover the truth. Can they expose the secrets before a ruthless man destroys any hope for a brighter future?

Reviews for Magnolia Secrets

It was an edge-of-your-seat, deep-in-good-drama, AWESOMELY TOLD story!!

Lainey is a well-crafted heroine whose secret life rocks a small town and captures the heart of her hero. Her story is compelling and emotional–because sadly, spousal abuse is a real problem in the world. It was riveting to see her grow and become stronger throughout the story, and finally begin to feel comfortable in who she was as a woman and a person with a purpose in life other than to serving as a punching bag for her controlling husband. The scenes were written in vivid detail and one could almost see feel the burn on Lainey’s cheek and taste the salty blood on her lip when she “took her punishment” as she often phrased it.

Beth has written a steamy romance with much heart and a real compassion for her characters.

Welcome JASON ZANDRI’s As Life Goes: Elementary Blog Tour

banner

I am honored to host Jason Zandri on this stop on his As Life Goes: Elementary Blog Tour!  Jason is a skilled and talented writer whose books I’ve enjoyed. He’s also very supportive of other writers.  Thank you for supporting Jason…and remember to leave your comments below.

From JasonJASON CROP

Offering up segments of your books online as free excerpts is a great way to get readers engaged with your writing, your style of writing, and the theme of the given story you’re sharing with them.

At times you have to decide, do I want to share out the first few chapters sequentially to give potential readers the startup and to entice them to read the rest, or do you
cherry pick some juicy parts, like different scenes of a movie that you might view as a preview trailer, to get them excited about the full story.

It’s hard to decide what to do and not second guess yourself. For example, I saw a ton of movie trailers for the recent theatrical release of Marvel’s “Ant-Man” before the movie was showing and every single one trailer left me underwhelmed. What makes matters worse is that I am a huge fan of the superhero genre, so because of that I generally allow for a huge level of latitude and consideration when something seems like it might be mediocre, where the larger movie going base might not. To have a movie be a big success you can’t draw from “just” the fan pool; you have to entice other movie goers to be entertained by the overall film and not the general subject matter (in this case – a superhero story).

Ant-Man might have its detractors, but I was pleasantly surprised with the film overall as a good superhero movie and a good story overall. It had moments of smart comedy in it (without being “stupid”) and it was much more than just a “flash/bang” action movie.

The point I am getting to is that in the end, the theatrical trailers did not do the movie justice.

The same can happen if you decide to cherry pick across your book to what you think are the good parts in an effort to entice a reader. You might over deliver on the excerpts and not leave enough for the reader to enjoy in the full story. Or what you might believe are the best parts to cherry pick, don’t end up being the strongest parts of the story, the way your readers see it.

Of course, if you have a slow starting book, just picking the first three chapters could have a similar effect. You might not hook them enough to get their attention.

Sometimes a mix will work, where you start the potential reader off with two of three chapters you want to offer to whet their appetite, and then give them a critical or pivotal chapter in the middle of the story that makes them compelled to find out what happens next.

One size never fits all and I find with myself trying both methods to see what works best. I am figuring out what is working best by asking readers that I am in touch with, what brought them to my story. The ones that respond “the free excerpts,” I ask them what “hooked” them so I can get an idea where to focus in the future.

With that, I have three links back to my blog where I have three existing excerpts to “As Life Goes: Elementary” and tomorrow’s post on the blog tour will be a previously unavailable excerpt – “As Life Goes: Elementary” – Excerpt IV, so be sure to visit back to read it.

as-life-goes FINAL cover large

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt I
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-i/

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt II
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/09/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-ii/

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt III
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/13/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-iii-author-jason-zandri/

About As Life Goes: Elementary

“Every new beginning starts from nothing. Understanding that you can have everything in the love of one person, isn’t that worth the risk of personal capital? Isn’t that kind of love worth it?” – Diane Wakeford

“Have I ever told you, you’re the nicest boy I’ve ever met?” – Melissa Bancroft

“I will have the friends I want. I don’t care what boy likes me or what boy I like. You’re an awesome friend. I am not giving you up because we’re going to different schools or for any one person either.” – Elizabeth Wellsworth

Mark Sanford returns to his hometown with his son Matthew in tow to rebuild their lives. Recently divorced, and with the mother totally abandoning her parental responsibilities, both father and son are beginning their fresh start together.

Matthew begins to make new friends in the neighborhood and at school while he tries to find his place among people that have been friends with one another for years at elementary school.

Mark takes over the reins of the former family corner store with the help of a young woman looking for work. The ability to love and trust that woman entering his life is difficult for him because of all he has lost. For Matthew, that “first love” is difficult to understand without a motherly influence and with a father that has been deeply hurt.

As Life Goes: Elementary – Links to Excerpts

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt I
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-i/

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt II
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/09/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-ii/

As Life Goes: Elementary – Excerpt III
https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/2015/07/13/as-life-goes-elementary-excerpt-iii-author-jason-zandri/

 

Books and links

Before Another Sunset (The Sunset Series Book 1)
http://www.amazon.com/Before-Another-Sunset-Series-Book-ebook/dp/B00T11GKYE

Another Sunset (The Sunset Series Book 2)
http://www.amazon.com/Another-Sunset-Book-2-ebook/dp/B00QD2FQU8/

I Hero: The Beginning
http://www.amazon.com/I-Hero-Beginning-Jason-Zandri-ebook/dp/B00Y3LA41M/

I Hero: Nathan Returns
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B011AOPE64

As Life Goes: Elementary
http://www.amazon.com/Life-Goes-Elementary-Jason-Zandri-ebook/dp/B00ZXVB7SK/

 

As Life Goes: The End of the Innocence – (expected November 2015)
As Life Goes: The Reunion – (expected April 2016)
As Life Goes: The Wedding (expected July 2016)
As Life Goes: The Funeral (expected October 2016)

 I Hero: Untitled Book 3 (Expected first half 2016)
I Hero: Untitled Book 4 (Expected second half 2016)
I Hero: Untitled Book 5 (Expected first half 2017)

Social Media links

Twitter – @GUNDERSTONE https://twitter.com/gunderstone/
Facebook Author page – https://www.facebook.com/jzandri
LinkedIn – https://www.linkedin.com/in/jasonzandri
Google+ – https://plus.google.com/+JasonZandri/
Author blog – The GUNDERSTONE Review https://gunderstone.wordpress.com/

 

ABOUT JASON ZANDRI

Jason has been working in the information technology field in one form or the other since 1996. He is currently employed full time at Bloomberg LP as a Systems Engineer in the R&D group. Jason lives in Wallingford Connecticut, with his wife Renata. He is the father to four children, three boys and 1 girl – 11 years (Andrew), 9 years (Angela), 7 years (Adam) and 6 years old (Alex).

 

Meet Featured Author Maggie Thom

It is my pleasure to introduce you to RRBC suspense/thriller author, Maggie Thom!  

maggie thomMaggie’s Motto: Escape to read and Read to escape.

Award-winning author Maggie Thom, writes suspense/thrillers. Her works include: Captured Lies, Deceitful Truths and Tainted Waters. Her novels have won various awards, including: suspense and thriller book of the year.

               Connect with Maggie:                                                                                            Website: http://maggiethom.com/
Twitter Handle: @maggiethom2
Facebook Page URL: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaggieThom

Purchase Her Award-Winning Books:                          http://www.amazon.com/Maggie-Thom/e/B009WSTDG8/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1435009408&sr=8-1

“Maggie Thom writes a fast paced thriller laced with romance that keeps the reader interested and on edge!”                                                                                             InDtale Magazine

Captured Lies: Book One of The Caspian Wine Series

maggiethomcaptlies

She was kidnapped not once but twice and now someone wants her dead because of it…  Her life was a lie! 
Everyone seems to have a story… but who’s telling the truth? And who wants her dead? Is Guy part of the solution? Or part of the problem? To discover the facts, she’ll have to untangle a web of deceit, lies, and secrets, dating back over thirty years.

What The Reviewers Say About Captured Lies:

“This is a action packed thriller that leaves you wanting to find the answers just as badly as Bailey (the main character of the book).”

“Maggie Thom writing style had me setting up and taking notice.”

“Maggie Thom liberally enriches her writing with supremely descriptive, inventive phrases. She is an expert wordsmith who has produced a great suspenseful thriller.”

Deceitful Truths (The Caspian Wine Series Book 2)

A standalone novel and a Sequel/Companion to Captured Lies

maggiethomdeceit

He created a legacy that no one could imagine… Tarin has lost a week of her life.
Tarin and Graham discover that although they don’t trust each other, they are forced to work together to solve several seemingly unrelated crimes that may lead to one disastrous conclusion. Can they figure it all out before Tarin’s nightmare plays out? An eighty year old woman pays with her life? Or before Tarin learns a truth that may seal her fate and be the one secret that will keep her and Graham apart as neither one of them may be able to forgive or forget… 

What The Reviewers Say About Deceitful Truths:

“Maggie really knows how to weave a tale and to draw the reader in.”

“Deceitful Truths has more twists than a grape vine, more jagged edges than broken glass and some pure, raw emotional turmoil that will squeeze at the heart of anyone who would do whatever is necessary to protect someone they love. I think the only thing that kept me from breaking skin clenching my fists were those moments of heart-melting romance that flickered through.”

“The way in which the author crafts the book will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat – brilliant!”

Tainted Waters

maggiethomtainted

He didn’t commit suicide but who’s going to believe her… 
The descendants of the four families, who own the land around the lagoon, are dying off. Since Sam and Keegan are the only ones questioning the deaths, they find themselves working together to seek the truth. Are people being murdered? Who would benefit from their deaths? Why would there be barricades and armed guards at the north end of the lake? To stay alive, Sam and Keegan must find the answers and convince others, before more people are killed… including them.

What The Reviewers Say About Tainted Waters:

 “…it was not a routine story. There was suspense almost from the very beginning of the book. It was so exciting, and a lot suspense and there was just enough romance to make me happy.”

“An edge of your seat thriller that offers chills galore.”

“The author weaves a pretty complex mystery with its share of potential bad guys and red herrings. Odds are you won’t figure out “whodunnit” until the end, and you’ll enjoy the trip to get there.”

Meet Featured Author John Fioravanti

Author PhotoToday we welcome John Fioravanti on the first stop of his The Heart of Teaching Blog Tour.  The Heart of Teaching was one of the first books I read after I joined Rave Reviews Book Club.  By reading his work, and seeing the enormous amount of support he gives other authors,I discovered that “HEART” is something John has in abundance.  

The Heart of Teaching Tour

Post #1

 I’m grateful to Rebecca, my host of this first post of THE HEART OF TEACHING TOUR, and to Nonnie Jules of 4WillsPublishing who arranged it all! The full lineup for this tour can be found @ http://wp.me/P43s9i-2g

Why did I write A Personal Journey to the Heart of Teaching?

The best answer is that I was attracted to this project for the very same reasons I was attracted to my chosen profession. In a nutshell: I wanted to help people. Just as I wished to give teenagers a helping hand through those often-difficult years, I wanted to support young teachers as they broke into the profession.

heart teach cover
Often, in the staff room, I would see new teachers who were visibly stressed as they photocopied materials for their classes and socialized. I knew, only too well, what they were up against: mastering curriculum, pedagogies, or teaching methods, dealing with students, parents, and administration. We all faced the same stressors each day – veterans and rookies alike, but these youngsters didn’t have the experience they needed to feel the confidence necessary to better manage their stress.

My heart went out to these young professionals, because I knew most of them would be unwilling to sit down with a veteran and share their innermost anxieties. Thinking back to my own rookie years, I remember that I was loath to reveal my insecurities and fears to a kindly veteran. Yet, if I had, I might have been less debilitated by the stress I experienced.

So what could I do? I cared about these people; I greeted them warmly, asked how things were going, and I always got the same kinds of guarded responses that I would have given thirty years earlier. But I never let that deter me, remaining hopeful that one day I might have the opportunity to help someone by alleviating their stress somewhat.

In 2006, when Kenneth Tam of Iceberg Publishing asked me to write this book for them, I got very enthusiastic, once I dispatched my self-doubt. We launched the book one September evening in 2007 – my final year of teaching. Two weeks later, a young substitute teacher stopped me in the hall. I saw she had a copy of the book on top of the other books she had in her arms. She wanted to thank me for writing the book. What struck me and pulled at my heartstrings was the emotion in her eyes and voice. It wasn’t a message of congratulations about the book; no, it was pure gratitude she was communicating. I walked away feeling very humbled by this young girl. All those hours of work put into this project became totally justified in that moment. If the book helped just one person, I would be satisfied.

Eight years later, I see this book differently. I’ve had a large number of readers who are not teachers and found it to be an inspirational read for them. My story is that of a young teacher finding his way, but it is not a story unique to the teaching profession. People in all walks of life struggle to succeed in their work, and often, personal issues or ‘demons’, which are hard to overcome, complicate that effort.

My struggle with my personal ‘demons’ is unique to me. But my upbringing, my faith, my wife and family, all contributed to my determination to battle those ‘demons’ every single day – and never give up. Did I defeat them? Yes and No. I was victorious in the sense that I learned and grew over the years and became a man that students were grateful to have in their lives for a short time each day throughout a semester. But the ‘demons’ are still a very real part of me. As I struggle in my new career as an Indie writer and publisher, they torment me daily. But I am no longer the fresh-faced kid from Dundas, terrified by these inner ‘demons’. We are like old friends – they know me, and I know them.

So this dance continues… and I know it well.

Author Bio:

John Fioravanti is a retired secondary school educator who completed his thirty-five year career in the classroom in June, 2008.

Throughout his career, John focused on developing research, analysis, and essay writing skills in his History Classroom. This led to the publication of his first non-fiction work for student use, Getting It Right in History Class. A Personal Journey to the Heart of Teaching is his second non-fiction work; it attempts to crystallize the struggles, accomplishments, and setbacks experienced in more than three decades of effort to achieve excellence in his chosen field.

John’s first work of fiction is Passion & Struggle, Book One of The Genesis Saga, and is set within Kenneth Tam’s Equations universe (Iceberg Publishing). He claims that, after two non-fiction books, he’s having the time of his life bringing new stories and characters to life!

At present, John lives in Waterloo, Ontario with Anne, his bride of forty-one years. They have three children and three grandchildren. In December of 2013, John and Anne founded Fiora Books for the express purpose of publishing John’s books.

Contacts:

 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fiora-Books/516763875088924?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FioraBooks

Website: https://fiorabooks.cm

Book Purchase Links:

 Amazon USA: http://dld.bz/dCm6v

Amazon Canada: http://dld.bz/dCm64

 Amazon UK : http://dld.bz/dCm6P

Amazon Australia: http://dld.bz/dCmBB

Chapters/Indigo Canada: http://dld.bz/dCp5A

Barnes & Noble: http://dld.bz/dCp5E

banner